Student Affairs Associations?

When I decided that Student Affairs/Higher Education was what I wanted to do as a career, I first began by speaking to friends that I knew in the program at my college, Kutztown University. The two that I talked to the most really encouraged me to do one very important thing, look everything I can up on google. They showed me a world of conferences, workshop, professional associations, just tips in general and I was so surprised!

I took their advice and happened across a professional association for student affairs called NASAP, National Association for Student Affairs Professionals. The site is dedicated to professionals that look to better the lives and careers of students within a college or university setting. As I did some digging, I was able to find their history, the members of their Executive Board, and how to join. The benefits to joining this association include information on conferences for student affairs professionals, opportunity for employment, current happenings within the student affairs field, and awards.

I thought about joining the association but stopped myself. I don’t want to prematurely join because it does cost to be a member. It costs $12 initially (and possibly each month) that I would like to remain a member. Because I am only in my undergraduate career, I want to wait until I am firmly in the student affairs program. I do believe this is something I would join, as well as others, when I decide to join graduate school and pursue that career. I believe these sites will help me get a jump start into my chosen career, as well as helping with networking, tips, opportunities, and information in general. It is important to reach out to those that are successfully accomplishing their career goals. These associations provide a lot to their constituents, and I would recommend that everyone look at the ones that are in their field.

Leave a comment